HOW TO DECORATE FOR THE CHRISTMAS SEASON ANYWAY….


So tomorrow the Christmas Season starts officially with the first advent and it is also my birthday.
A time I was anxious about this year, because it is the first time without my son Matthias.
People who are following me and knowing me a bit longer know, for all new followers, my son Matthias died in a car crash on 25.5.2012. He was only 21.
At first I did not want to decorate the house or celebrate my birthday at all.
Then I decided a little bit of decoration couldn’t harm and some people are coming over for coffee tomorrow.
And I even created some decorations, which include Matthias in every way.

This is my advent wreath this year.
With photo of Matthias, the little candle holder pots are coming from an advents calendar he had won years ago on a Christmas market and the salt dough decorations, which are glued on the vase, were a present from him. He made them with his teacher in boarding school still.

IMG_0819

IMG_0820

This is the little corner close to our dinning table ( supposed to be a dinning table, but is used for several other activities).
The pot with the red candle shows a photo of Matthias and his brother Ralph, which I “decoupaged” a few weeks ago…

IMG_0815

IMG_0814

This is close to the entrance. The photo of him are usually hanging on the wall a little bit higher and the beautiful candle holder is a present of some friends from Germany who knew Matthias very well.

IMG_0818

And this is a vase, which my son Frank bought shortly after Matthias’ death and since then it always holds a candle inside, which we light every evening

IMG_0816

So all decoration has some story to tell about Matthias and he is not forgotten ( even if he will anyway never been forgotten…)

Are you including your loved and missed ones in this years Christmas celebration and decoration in a similar way?

photos and comments below are appreciated.

God bless!

4 thoughts on “HOW TO DECORATE FOR THE CHRISTMAS SEASON ANYWAY….

Leave a Reply

