LOVELY CONTAINER CANDLES HAND-MADE: HOW TO


Being inspired by hand-made candles, which I bought recently, I thought I gonna try this craft as well.

Here is my little tutorial, but I will give you a link to an informative web page below, where I got

my instructions from previously.

This is what I used:

Photo0315a block of wax, a few centimeters of wick and this little metal plates (I do not know the right description for these thingies)

and

Photo0316 an old pot, a modified coffee tin to melt the wax in (never melt the wax directly in a pot, but use this double cooker method only)

and

Photo0317the most important item, a thermometer. This is essential as the wax can easily catch fire if too hot.

The ideal pouring temperature is 160 degree F, which is about 71 degree C and for the topping up the degrees should be a little bit higher, 185 degree F, which is according to a conversion table on the internet, 85 degrees C.

Never let the thermometer out of your eyes and the temperature rise higher than the last given degrees.

I clipped the thermometer  onto the tin with a peg. There are also professional double cooker on the market for candle making, but for now I used this option. Never use it without the thermometer.

While the wax was melting slowly, I never switched the oven higher but on 2, I prepared the wicks.

Photo0321I cut the wicks into the appropriate length, clipped the little metal plates on and glued them in the center of my candle container.

Never cut the wick to short, as you will have a problem finding a way to keep it from sinking or bending.

Photo0322and then I attached pegs in a way to keep it straight and centered.

As soon as the wax had obtained the ideal pouring temperature, I filled the containers up, just below the rim. I left out the part where to heat up the containers before pouring in the wax, as it is hot here in Namibia after all

Photo0323Now comes the hardest part for me: WAIT,WAIT,WAIT….

It depends on the weather conditions around your home, I live in Namibia and it is really hot here now (30 degrees C), it will take a few hours or better leave  the candles to cool down until the next day. Don’t speed up this process as this will affect the quality of the candle/wax.

Now

Photo0324you see that the wax forms a little hole in the middle while cooling down. For this reason one should always keep a certain amount of wax, in the same shade as the candle is, behind,  for the top up. When you heat the wax again, don’t forget the thermometer and to heat the wax slightly higher to 185 degrees F, or  85 degrees C, in order for the top up wax to smoothly melt onto the cooled down candle surface.

I was to dynamic (what a lovely word to use instead of impatient, pushy or forceful) as always, to keep that in mind, so I had already dropped different shaded wax into the pot, before I remembered the last bit of candle making instructions on a different tutorial. So I guess my top up will look a bit distinctive tomorrow.

For now I am done with the wax melting. while I WAIT for the ‘cool down’  I will search for a pretty idea to decorate the candle container, or should I have done the decoration before I poured the wax into the glasses? I don’t know, but will let you know  as soon as I have found out what version is more suitable and practical.

Here is the link/instructions I used for my candle making today where you can find more lovely ideas about candle making techniques:

 

http://www.candletech.com/candle-making-basics/how-to-make-container-candles/

Have a lovely weekend.

Keep well.

 

2 thoughts on “LOVELY CONTAINER CANDLES HAND-MADE: HOW TO

  1. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

