NATURE HAS ITS OWN COURSE or watch out what you are thinking


A few days ago I created two butterfly feeder.

 

 

1464660_10201161513222042_1716213788_n1402054_10201051390469042_1616200327_o(1)

As it was raining and overcast a bit, I never spotted any butterflies at all til today.

This morning my son said, I cannot let the dogs out, as there are hundreds of bees in the tree outside the terrace.

I could hear them humming……..what now?

1468545_10201178365763345_968761846_n

I asked my husband to come and look, but he went into a frenzy, as he was attacked by bees years ago in his workshop in Okahandja. He had to undergo medical treatment amongst several other people around that area. One old man was actually lying on the street covered in bees,  almost dead. One  courageous man with his bakkie stopped and put him on the back of his car.  He drove him to hospital, where they both had to get medical treatment as well.

Anyway, it sounded as of the buzzing bees were multiplying in our tree.

Maybe it is my butterfly feeder with its sugary syrup inside attracting the bees, I thought. Even if not one bee was sitting on it. I got me some scissors went outside cutting off the feeder and plunging it into the green garbage bin, which was located far away from the house. I was not afraid at all, like I used to be, but my only concern were the dogs, who might get stung by the bees while  trying to catch and snapping at them. And of course the nervous state my husband was in by now, trying to figure out how to climb out of the bedroom window, as he was horrified to go past the tree on his way to the car. Actually he would have needed a ball cutter, as we have burglar proof in front of all the windows. And it would be lying in the garage, past the tree.

Luckily after a few minutes the humming stopped. Most of the bees were gone.

My two butterfly feeder broken in the trash.

While cleaning up the puppies pooh from the terrace, since Sunday we have a new family member, a white Labrador puppy, called Abby now.

1457652_10201155456830636_1523230998_n

She was supposed to be called Angel, but after  two days we decided this was not an appropriate name for her as she is up to lots of mischief, even getting her way with our two other dogs Baloo and Jackie.

1483328_10201155455830611_1729038211_n

So we came up with Abby, short for Abigail. We also opted for Sammy, short for Samantha, but it is not such a popular name for a dog here in Namibia……

Anyway while cleaning up,  my attention went back to the” bee tree . There were  two tiny white butterflies dancing around the crown of the tree,  a few bees were still sucking on the flowers and a yellow/black huge, beautiful butterfly was flying around back and fro from my garden into the neighbor’s garden.

1468545_10201178365683343_17310044_nsee the little white spot

Ok, I thought, now that I have thrown away your food you are coming, why haven’t you been here before?

I went around the tree, seeing that it is in full bloom now, after a few days of a bit of rain. Maybe the bees were attracted by the flowers, I thought, and after all not by my sweet-smelling butterfly feeder.

Ok then, I thought, went straight to the garbage bin to get the feeder out again, but the glass plate was broken now.  I took it out, went to the fridge to get the brown frozen banana out and cut it in pieces. I divided the fruit into two bowls, a smaller one for the pink and white Macrame hanger and a flat bowl, which I placed directly into the creeper

1468545_10201178365803346_1437877427_n

 

where the beautiful huge butterfly went passed all the time while flying to the neighbors and back into our garden.

The coincidence, if it is at all, is that when I hang up the feeder I thought, not that I am attracting all the bees around this area to my garden, instead of the butterflies.

Fact is, the butterflies are coming in steadily. The  bees are here as well. The feeders are up again, even if the insects are still only sucking all the nectar out of the freshly blooming flowers, instead of nipping at the smashed brown banana,which I heard would attract lots of butterflies.

Nature has its own course…..and watch out what you are thinking. It might come true.

So have a lovely day now and a wonderful weekend coming up with lots of seasonal greetings from me.

Love and light

Claudia

Leave a Reply

